UM-Flint's Hiba Wehbe-Alamah named Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year

FLINT, Michigan — Hiba Wehbe-Alamah, a nursing professor at the University of Michigan-Flint and an expert in transcultural health care, has been named Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year. 

A professor at UM-Flint for more than a decade, Wehbe-Alama is the author of two textbooks being used in 18 countries, winner of more than 30 Excellence in Teaching Golden Apple Awards, and led the development of the first transcultural care computer simulation game, CultureCopia.

“Dr. Wehbe-Alamah is a transformational teacher,” Chancellor Susan E. Borrego said. “Since I have known Hiba, I’ve seen the inspirational ways she leads her students to be their very best while empowering them with deep knowledge. Within her students, she ignites a love of learning and service to others that’s at the core of who she is, and that’s crucial on the front lines of global health.”

The Michigan Association of State Universities annually recognizes three faculty members from Michigan’s 15 public universities for their dedication and contributions to the education of undergraduate students by naming them Michigan Distinguished Professors of the Year. 

“Professor Wehbe-Alamah is among nominees continuing to bring new scholarship and innovation to Michigan’s public universities and surrounding communities,” said Daniel J. Hurley, CEO of the Michigan Association of State Universities. “These professors have the highest dedication to student success and produce degree holders who advance Michigan’s prosperity.”

As a leader in cultural care theory and ethnonursing research, Wehbe-Alamah’s courses are popular with students of all majors. As a consultant and mentor, she also educates other professors and the military.

Wehbe-Alamah performs voluntary and professional service in primary care and women’s health services at the Saginaw County Department of Public Health. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Saginaw Valley State University and her doctorate from Duquesne University. 
Also honored as Professors of the Year are Michael Dease of Michigan State University and Brahim Medjahed of the University of Michigan-Dearborn.
Enjoy this story? Sign up for free solutions-based reporting in your inbox each week.

Read more articles by Ashley Schafer.